Classes

AZ CCW Course

This class will be held at Area 15 in Mesa Located on the Southwest corner of Greenfield and Broadway 4323 E. Broadway Rd Mesa AZ Ste 115 Class runs from 10:00am -1:00pm

In this class we will cover:  Legal Issues, Use of force, laws of concealment, levels of awareness, conflict resolution, safety.

This class satisfies the AZ DPS approved CCW course guidelines and makes you eligible to receive your AZ CCW permit.  Anyone can take this class, but in order to obtain your permit all of the following requirements apply:

  • Be a resident of this state or a United States citizen; or if you are a resident alien you must provide a photo copy of your resident alien card.
  • Be 21 years of age or older when application is turned into AZ DPS
  • Not be under indictment for and not been convicted in any jurisdiction of a felony;
  • Not suffer from mental illness and been adjudicated mentally incompetent or committed to a mental institution;
  • Not be unlawfully present in the United States of America;
  • Satisfactorily complete a firearms safety training program (the CCW class) approved by the department of public safety pursuant to  A.R.S. 13-3112

Our CCW Class includes the following:

  • Class (Covers AZ State law)
  • Finger Printing
  • Arizona CCW application
  • Fingerprint card (We will print you in class)
  • A packet with application ready to submit.
  • (Does not include AZ DPS CCW permit fee of $60.00)

 

ALL STUDENTS MUST PREPAY FOR THIS CLASS. CREDIT CARD IS PREFERRED BUT YOU MAY MAIL IN ANOTHER FORM OF PAYMENT AS WELL (CONTACT US BY EMAIL FOR MAILING INFO)

Class cost is $50.00 per person and requires a minimum of 4 students per class with a maximum of 10.

(In order to receive a refund, notice of cancellation must be received by 5pm seven days prior to the scheduled class, there will be a mandatory $2.00 cancellation/refund fee)

View Class Calendar

 

Advanced Concealed Carry Tactics

This course is for the accomplished shooter looking to expand their concealed carry skill set.  The course is approx 8 hours in length. Participants must be at least 21 years of age and must possess a valid Arizona or other state’s Concealed Weapons Permit (Some exceptions apply).

Course Contents:

  • Safety Brief
  • Review of Fundamentals of Shooting
  • Proper grip and presentation
  • Drawing from a Holster & Drawing from Concealment
  • Emergency & Tactical Reloading
  • Malfunction Clearing Drills
  • Strong and Weak Hand Shooting
  • Balancing Speed and Accuracy
  • Close Quarters Combat Shooting
  • Shooting and moving
  • Various drills to strengthen class material

Required equipment includes eye and ear protection, a firearm you use for CCW (No revolvers), a quality holster that is leather or polymer (strong-side, IWB or OWB with cover garment), a minimum of three magazines, an appropriate magazine carrier and at least 500 rounds of factory ammunition.  It is strongly recommended that you also wear a billed hat, long pants, comfortable shoes or boots and a sturdy belt that will support the weight of your handgun and other gear.

Class cost is $140.00 per person and requires a minimum of 9 students per class with a maximum of 18.

ALL STUDENTS MUST PREPAY FOR THIS CLASS. CREDIT CARD IS PREFERRED BUT YOU MAY MAIL IN ANOTHER FORM OF PAYMENT AS WELL (CONTACT US BY EMAIL FOR MAILING INFO)

(In order to receive a refund, notice of cancellation must be received by 5pm 7 days prior to the scheduled class, there will be a mandatory $4.00 cancellation/refund fee)

View Class Calendar

Private Shooting Instruction

Upper Hand Defense offers very affordable one on one shooting instruction from basic to advanced level students.  We cover basic fundamentals of marksmanship in each class and then the student chooses specific skills that he/she wants to work on.

Rates are $50 per hour per person, (2 hour minimum) plus a $10 range fee per person.  Private instruction sessions are scheduled on a case by case basis.  Discounts available for couples/friends instruction (Please contact us for more info)  Call or email to schedule you range session today!

View Class Calendar

 

Defensive Tactics  (NOT CURRENTLY OFFERED)

This course was exclusively developed for the basic civilian security professional to allow each graduate to be more prepared to deal with confrontation and remain situationaly aware in today’s dynamic security environments

Topics covered in class

  • Situational awareness
  • Review of use of force laws
  • Soft hand techniques
  • Hard hand techniques
  • Handcuffing techniques
  • Searching techniques
  • Pressure points
  • OC (Pepper Spray)
  • ASP Baton

**Please note each student will be strongly encouraged to be pepper sprayed and complete a defensive scenario**

Students will only be certified to carry only one specific type of pepper spray.  All students must bring “Fox Labs Defense Spray- Flip Top, Cone Fog (2 Oz or 4Oz)” with them to this class.  You may purchase it before hand or we will also have this spray available for purchase when registering for this class.  You must have the appropriate pepper spray in hand before you are issued your certification.

Each student will also be required to bring their own collapsible baton to class.  The only appropriate baton brands for this class are Monadnock or ASP.  Any baton length they offer is appropriate.  Please do not bring any other brand of baton with you to class as you will not be allowed to use it.

Each student will also need to bring a serviceable pair of handcuffs with them as well

Class cost is $100.00 per person and requires a minimum of 4 students per class with a maximum of 24.

ALL STUDENTS MUST PREPAY FOR THIS CLASS. CREDIT CARD IS PREFERRED BUT YOU MAY MAIL IN ANOTHER FORM OF PAYMENT AS WELL (CONTACT US BY EMAIL FOR MAILING INFO)

(In order to receive a refund, notice of cancellation must be received by 5pm seven days prior to the scheduled class, there will be a mandatory $2.00 cancellation/refund fee)

View Class Calendar

 

Heart Saver First Aid/CPR/AED

This course is for anyone with limited or no medical training who needs a course completion card in CPR, First Aid and AED use to meet job, regulatory or other requirements.

Course Content:

 

Heartsaver CPR AED

  • Adult CPR AED (with a mask)
  • Adult choking
  • Optional modules include child CPR AED, and infant CPR, including child and infant choking

Heartsaver First Aid

  • First aid basics
  • Medical emergencies
  • Injury emergencies
  • Environmental emergencies
  • Optional modules include child CPR AED, and infant CPR, including child and infant choking

Heartsaver First Aid CPR AED

  • First aid basics
  • Medical emergencies
  • Injury emergencies
  • Environmental emergencies
  • Adult CPR AED (with a mask)

Initial Heartsaver Course requires approximately 5 hours to complete, including skills practice and skills testing.

The American Heart Association Heartsaver First Aid, CPR, AED Course Completion Card is good for 2 years

 

Class cost is $65.00 per person and requires a minimum of 4 students per class with a maximum of 10.

ALL STUDENTS MUST PREPAY FOR THIS CLASS. CREDIT CARD IS PREFERRED BUT YOU MAY MAIL IN ANOTHER FORM OF PAYMENT AS WELL (CONTACT US BY EMAIL FOR MAILING INFO)

(In order to receive a refund, notice of cancellation must be received by 5pm seven days prior to the scheduled class, there will be a mandatory $2.00 cancellation/refund fee)

View Class Calendar

Basic Life Support for Healthcare Providers CPR Certification

This course is for healthcare professionals who need to know how to perform CPR, as well as other lifesaving skills, in a wide variety of in-hospital and out-of-hospital settings.

 

Course content:

  •  Critical concepts of high-quality CPR
  • The American Heart Association Chain of Survival
  • 1-Rescuer CPR and AED for adult, child and infant
  • 2-Rescuer CPR and AED for adult, child and infant
  • Differences between adult, child and infant rescue techniques
  • Bag-mask techniques for adult, child and infant
  • Rescue breathing for adult, child and infant
  • Relief of choking for adult, child and infant
  • CPR with an advanced airway

In the classroom, students participate in simulated clinical scenarios and learning stations. Students work with an AHA BLS Instructor to complete BLS skills practice and skills testing. Students also complete a written exam.

 

Initial Provider Course requires approximately 4.5 hours to complete, including skills practice and skills testing.  Renewal Course requires approximately 4 hours, including skills practice and skills testing.

 

For ATSU, Students and Faculty this course is usually held in the Cholla room at A.T.S.U. Mesa campus and begins after classes get out at 5:00pm

 

All other class locations are T.B.D.

 

American Heart Association BLS for Healthcare Providers Course Completion Card is valid for two years.

 

Class cost is $40.00 per person and requires a minimum of 4 students per class with a maximum of 10.

 

ALL STUDENTS MUST PREPAY FOR THIS CLASS. CREDIT CARD IS PREFERRED BUT YOU MAY MAIL IN ANOTHER FORM OF PAYMENT AS WELL (CONTACT US BY EMAIL FOR MAILING INFO)

(In order to receive a refund, notice of cancellation must be received by 5pm seven days prior to the scheduled class, there will be a mandatory $2.00 cancellation/refund fee)

View Class Calendar

Women’s Basic Self Defense

Upper Hand Defense is pleased to announce that we are now offering a women’s basic self defense class.

In this 2 – 2.5 hour long class we cover the basic principles of self-defense as well as anti-victimization theory.  We will teach you about crime prevention and awareness strategies (i.e. making sure you don’t look like an easy target).  We also help you understand the behavioral patterns of criminals, situational recognition, personal behavioral assessment, and how to effectively utilize your surroundings to protect yourself.

We review predator typologies and apply this knowledge to fighting strategies and tactics to include vocalization, assertiveness, boundary setting, identifying then exploiting weaknesses and strengths.  A big part of the training will be in the proper use of a chemical deterrent such as pepper spray.  We use real cans of pepper spray as part of the training so you are ready and comfortable using it if the situation arises.

All basic self-defense students will be issued a FREE can of personal pepper spray (keychain) upon completion of the class

 

Each student will receive the following when taking the class:

  • World class self-defense instruction provided by very experienced knowledgeable, and approachable instructors
  • Self-confidence and the ability to protect yourself in any situation
  • How to be aware of their surroundings
  • How to develop awareness and avoidance skills
  • What street predators look for in a victim
  • How to avoid fitting the victim profile
  • How to effectively deploy pepper spray to protect yourself
  • How to quickly escape danger in the event of an assault
  • Certificate of completion
  • Printed training materials (refer to them anytime to refresh your memory).
  • Personal pepper spray (keychain)
  • Discounts on future classes including: private self-defense classes and firearms training classes.

Class cost is $49.99 per person and requires a minimum of 4 students per class with a maximum of 24.

ALL STUDENTS MUST PREPAY FOR THIS CLASS. CREDIT CARD IS PREFERRED BUT YOU MAY MAIL IN ANOTHER FORM OF PAYMENT AS WELL (CONTACT US BY EMAIL FOR MAILING INFO)

(In order to receive a refund, notice of cancellation must be received by 5pm seven days prior to the scheduled class, there will be a mandatory $2.00 cancellation/refund fee)

View Class Calendar

Categories

Blog Archives